Minister of State for Planning, Hon. Jacques Léonard

- Minister of Justice, Hon. Marc-André Bédard
- Minister of Transport, Public Works and Supply, Hon. Lucien Lessard
- Minister responsible for the Environment, Hon. Marcel Léger
- Minister responsible for Youth, Sports and Leisure, Hon. Claude Charron
- Minister responsible for Energy, Hon. Guy Joron
- Minister of Consumer Affairs, Hon. Lise Payette
- Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Jean Garon Minister of Social Affairs, Hon. Denis

Lazure

- Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Guy Tardif
- Minister of Labour and Manpower and Minister of Immigration, Hon. Jacques Couture
- Minister of Cultural Affairs and Minister of Communications, Hon. Louis O'Neill
- Minister of Natural Resources and Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Yves Bérubé
- Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. Rodrigue Tremblay
- Minister of Tourism, Fish and Game, Hon. Yves Duhaime
- Public Service Minister and Vice-President of the Treasury Board, Hon. Denis De Belleval.

## 3.3.1.6 Ontario

The government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. In April 1974 the Honourable Pauline McGibbon took office as Lieutenant Governor. The Legislative Assembly is composed of 125 members elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years. At the general election September 18, 1975, 51 Progressive Conservatives, 38 New Democrats and 36 Liberals were elected to the province's 30th Legislature.

In addition to the regular ministries are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1970, c.240 as amended) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$15,000 and an expense allowance of \$7,500. In addition, the Speaker receives a special annual indemnity of \$9,000, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole House \$5,000 and the Leader of the Opposition a salary of \$18,000. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a ministry receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$25,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a ministry \$18,000. The Leader of the Opposition receives a representation allowance of \$3,000 per annum. Each Minister without portfolio receives an annual salary of \$7,500.

The Executive Council of Ontario in January 1977

Premier and President of the Council, Hon. William G. Davis

Minister of Housing, Hon. John Rhodes Provincial Secretary for Resources

Development, Hon. Donald R. Irvine Attorney General, Hon. Roy McMurtry Minister of Revenue, Hon. Arthur K. Meen Minister of Agriculture and Food, Hon.

- William Newman
- Minister of the Environment, Hon. George A. Kerr
- Minister of Community and Social Services, Hon. James Taylor
- Provincial Secretary for Justice and Solicitor General, Hon. John P. MacBeth
- Minister of Education, Hon. Thomas L. Wells
- Minister of Labour, Hon. Bette Stephenson

- Treasurer of Ontario and Minister of Economics and Intergovernmental
  - Affairs, Hon. W. Darcy McKeough
- Minister of Correctional Services, Hon. John Smith

Minister of Transportation and Communications, Hon. James Snow

- Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. Leo Bernier
- Chairman of the Management Board of Cabinet, Hon. James Auld
- Minister of Government Services, Hon. Margaret Scrivener
- Minister of Health, Hon, Frank S. Miller
- Minister of Consumer and Commercial Relations, Hon. Sidney B. Handleman
- Minister of Colleges and Universities, Hon. Harry Parrott